About Solidarity federation (SolFed)

About Solidarity federation (SolFed)

Messagede Cheïtanov le Dim 25 Juil 2010 23:50

Hi ! As I'm studying english in the university, I sometimes have presentations. The last one I made was about SolFed, the British section of the IWA. For the ones interested, I can send it (powerpoint) to you by mail (send me a private message). i've exchanged mails with Martin, the international secretary, in the form of an interview. Here it is !

-Why does Solidarity Federation was created so late? Was there another form of anarcho-syndicalism in Great Britain?
"SolFed was created in 94 from the Direct Action Movement and some other groups. Previously the DAM was the IWA affiliate in the UK - the DAM was founded in 1979. It included the last remnants of the Syndicalist Workers Federation (SWF) the previous affiliate. There have been no other forms of anarcho-syndicalism outside of local groups in Britain, though many anarcho-syndicalists have been in the IWW at one point or another."

-Was there an anarchist organisation under Thatcher?
"There were lots of anarchist organisations under Thatcher. She was bad, but it wasn't like any form of protest was criminalised. Nationally there was DAM, Class War and the Anarchist Communist Federation. Later on there was a platformist split from DAM called the Anarchist Workers Group (1988 I think). There were also lots of local groups."

-What are your relationships with the other British trade-unions (all reformists of course!)?
"Our relations with the British trade unions is that we are often members of them, and sometimes take shop stewards and other lay roles within them. We see working through them as unavoidable at times and this is reflected in our strategy:

from http://www.solfed.org.uk/docs/strategy/

"

We need a three-pronged approach to the business of actually setting up an independent organisation at work.